New Year, New Me… well, not really.

Hi Internet, it’s me.

It’s been a while since I posted but I felt the need to take a little break. Now I’m back and it’s the new year. 2016 was probably the worst year I’ve witnessed on a global scale but an alright year on personal one. I’ve done a lot this year and made some big changes.

The most significant thing about this year was that I went vegetarian and then later vegan. I started this blog and found a new passion for writing. I became more motivated to make a difference in the world. I reflected on my self as a person and took some major steps in order to live a healthier lifestyle. I’ve changed a lot this year and I’m thankful for that.

I turned 21 and started my last year of college. I made some new friends and got closer with my older friends. I traveled to Los Angeles (and randomly met David Beckham… like what?) and ate some really good food. I worked as a makeup artist and I’ve switched to cruelty-free makeup. I’ve done a lot this year and made some pretty cool memories.

Although, not all of it was positive. There definitely have been some not so great times this past year but I don’t like to dwell on the negative. I try to take bad things and learn from them. So this year, I’m taking the time to work on my self and become a stronger person.

I think it’s kind of silly to have these huge goals and call them “new year’s resolutions” because I think it’s important to constantly set goals for yourself and not just when January 1st rolls around. With that being said, I have goals I want to accomplish.

I want to start reading more books. I used to always read books but somehow with the internet, I kind of lost that love. I just finished reading Milk & Honey (doesn’t sound very vegan friendly, does it? ha!) by Rupi Kaur and it was wonderful.Β I want to write more, especially on here. I really found that I love writing for my own pleasure rather than mindless essays for class.

I want to cook more and make my own recipes, especially with Turkish cuisine. I want to exercise regularly again because after a minor injury last year, I kind of stopped and resent myself a little for that. I want to start focusing on my mental health and letting my emotions, that I tend to bury deep down, come to the surface. Whether that be through writing or talking about it, it’s something I need to work on.

Most importantly, I want to focus on being the best version of myself. I want to recognize my faults and weaknesses and work on them. I’m going to focus on learning, growing and accepting that change is good and to let it happen. I’ll still always be the same me, just the improved version.

So if you’re still reading this, keep your resolutions and accomplish them but don’t wait around for 2018 to set new goals. I hope 2017 brings you the best memories and may the negativity in 2016 stay in past. Here’s to 2017, you’re strong and you got what it takes to kick this year’s ass.

Stay beautiful,

AyseπŸ’‹

Song of the day: Just Hold On by Steve Aoki & Louis Tomlinson

Leave a Reply

